I ‘Witch’ You Were Mine…February

baba yaga valentine 1
“I ‘Witch’ You Were Mine…” digital art, February 2015

I adore vintage valentines and have a sizeable collection of them, so when February rolled around, I knew I wanted to do something vintage-y, valentines-ey and whimsical for this month’s Baba Yaga.  Normally I don’t work digitally, or even in 2-D, but I couldn’t help myself this time.

I used 1800s artist Ivan Bilibin’s chicken hut illustration—it’s one of my favorite depictions and the style is very compatible with the feel of old-school children’s valentines. I like the general weirdness of having made a children’s style valentine featuring a witch that often…eats children!

Leave a Reply

