Secret Little World

I love the genre of creating little worlds in things like Altoid tins, suitcases, small cardboard boxes, etc. Something about having something that looks like one thing on the outside, but opens to reveal something different or unexpected on the inside, greatly appeals to me.

I recently made one such thing in a little 1950s plastic purse-sized tissue holder.

inside

I used some graphics from a recycled Christmas card and a mini bottle brush tree. The box originally had a plastic insert that I ended up removing. The outside looks like this:

tissue box

 

I have had this box for years, thinking I would use it in its intended capacity—but I never did. Good thing, because it became the perfect little theater for my secret winter scene. The stars on the outside even kind of echo what is on the inside.

I’ve been working on some other little worlds in the more traditional format of the Altoid tin. I’ll share those as I finish them.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

